In order to distinguish individuals who have made important contributions to the spiritual-philosophical literature of India, Mata Amritanandamayi Math (MAM) began presenting the Amrita Keerti Award in 2001. The goal is to assist the preservation of the ancient and enduring human values of Sanatana Dharma.

The cash prize rendered through this award is intended to support the recipients, helping them to be financially in the position to continue to dedicate their life to their noble pursuits, and thereby foster the cultural heritage of India.

The award comprises a cash prize of Rs. 123,456, an idol of Saraswati Devi crafted by the artist Nambootiri and a Certificate of Commendation from the MAM.

Amrita Keerti award recepients since its inception:
2001    Acharya Narendra Bhushan
2002    P. Parameshwaran
2003    Prof. Harihara Shastri
2003    Dr. Shankar Abhyankar (National Award)
2004    Mahakavi Akkitham Achyuthan Nambootiri
2005    P. Narayana Kurup
2006    Smt. Pratibha Ray (National Award)
2007    Paravur Sreedharan Tantri
2008    Prof. R. Vasudevan Potti 
2009    Prof. K.V. Dev 
2010    Prof. NP Unni 
2011    M.P.Veerendra Kuamr
2012    C. Radhakrishnan
2013    Turavoor Viswambharan
2013    Manoj Das (National Award)