Doctoral student, Nisha N., received best poster award for poster titled Tetravalent Protein Vaccine Against Staphylococcus Aureus at the Vaccines and Vaccination 2013 Conference in USA.
The work focussed on generating a novel potent vaccine against the most prevalent nosocomial cum community acquired pathogen staphylococcus aureus using its non-covalently surface associated proteins which were antigenic as well as highly immunogenic to animals.
The work provided promising results in the preclinical study on laboratory bred BALB/c mice upon vaccination using a cocktail of immunogenic proteins and lethal challenge using lethal dose of the pathogen.


Students at the Center received accolades at BIOQUEST 2013, an international conference on biotechechnolgy for innovative applications. Bioquest '13 turned out to be an ideal forum to discuss exciting and emerging multidisciplinary themes related to the use of biotechnology in addressing pertinent societal needs.
Following students of the Center gave outstanding performances in various competitions:-

  • Doctoral student, Sreerekha P. R., received first prize in the Tentalks, the PhD student symposium.
    Sreerekha was awarded with a laptop and a certificate of recognition for her research work, In vitro Differentiation of Rat Mesenchymal Stem Cells into Cardiomyocytes on Multiscale PLGA - Fibrin Scaffold.
    The work takes on an innovative scaffold and materials design for a new cardiac patch which successfully retains the stem cells, help them differentiate and further, helps them synchronize together to create a beating tissue.
    The choice of the material is the key innovation as it is fibrin based and the structure is the combination of a nanoscale and a microscale structure that can provide biological functionality and mechanical integrity. The results in this work seems quiet promising for the possibility of an infract repair option that never existed before.
  • Sukhithasri V. wins Best Paper Award for her paper, Intrinsic Modulation of Cytokine Response by Mycobacteria. She received a certificate of recognition and a memento for her excellent work.
  • Doctoral student, Deepa Narayanan, wins Best Poster Presentation Award for her paper, Status of Osteoporosis Treatment using Nanomaterials. She was appreciated for her work by a certificate of recognition along with cash prize.


Dr. Sahadev Shankarappa, Assistant Professor, Amrita Centre for Nanosciences and Molecular Medicine, received the prestigious Ramalingaswamy Re - Entry Fellowship 2013 from Ministry of Science and Technology, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India.
February 14, 2013


Sanoj Rejinold N. received the Indo - Korea Internship Award from the Department of Science and Technology and Ministry of Korea, Republic of Korea, under joint Indo Korean Research Internship Programme 2013.


Sudheesh Kumar P. T., alumnus of ACNS, was offered a post doctoral position at School of Dentistry and Oral Health at Griffith University, Australia.


Anitha V. C., alumina of ACNS, do her post doctoral fellow at World Class University (WCU) Nano Research Centre at School Of Mechanical Engineering, Yeugnam University, South Korea.


Doctoral student, Abhilash Sasidharan was offered a post - doc position at Nanotechnology Innovation Centre of Kansas State (NICKS) at Kansas State University, United States. His research is based on understanding protein – nanomaterial interactions, effect of protein corona on nano - bio interactions with respect to the physicochemical properties of nanomaterials.


Doctoral student, Binulal Nelson Sathy, who completed his doctoral study in May 2013, was offered a post - doc fellow position at Trinity College for Bioengineering, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland.


M. Tech. student at Nanosolar Division, R. Ranjusha was awarded a two month (July 2011) Resources Research Center (RRC) Internship at PaiChai University, S. Korea.
The program focused on training in synthesis and characterization of nanostructures for biomedical and electronic application.


Mini P. A., received Indo - Swiss Fellowship (ISJRP) for pursuing a 6 month joint research program grant (starting September 2011), in the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland.
Her research paper is Integration of Nanomaterials for Energy Generation and Storage Devices.