Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham's Amritapuri organized a Faculty Development Program (FDP) on the topic, "How Can Teachers Make A Difference?", on July 1, 2017. Prof. Sreepad Karmalkar, IIT Madras, was the resourse person. Dr. V. M. Nandakumaran, Principal, Amrita School of Arts and Sciences, Amritapuri, welcomed the gathering.

Dr. Karmalkar began the session by sharing with the teachers of Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham "the recipes for effective teaching". He listed certain steps that can help bring an effective change in the teaching methodology. First, the teachers must have an ability to judge the level of questions that are given to the students. To be efficient and effective, a teacher must organize teaching around learning outcomes. In order to deliver the content effectively, the teacher must have good communication skills. A teacher must test the students frequently and must seek feedback from them. By following these recipes, a teacher is sure to make a difference in his/her teaching.

He said, "Failures happen more often than successes. It's a fact. Unless one experiments and fails one can't improve. Failure shows that we are experimenting and one is not just passive." 

Dr. S. N. Jyothi, Principal, Amrita School of Engineering, Amritapuri, proposed the vote of thanks.

ABOUT THE SPEAKER: Dr. Shreepad Karmalkar is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at IIT Madras. His contributions in the field of education include video courses on Solid State Devices, Semiconductor Device Modeling and Introduction to Research hosted on the internet. The latter is a lecture-cum-activity oriented course to foster research skills among research scholars. He pioneered a multidisciplinary “Introduction to Research” course for MS & Doctoral scholars of IIT Madras. He has authored numerous articles in journals, conferences and books, and has been awarded several patents in the areas of semiconductor device modeling and process development. For his research contributions, he has received the Vikram Sarabhai Award in 2005 and IBM Faculty Award in 2007. 

Event Details
2017-07-01 09:30 to 12:30
School of Arts and Sciences
School of Engineering