ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (abbreviated as ACM-ICPC or just ICPC) is an annual multi-tiered programming contest among various universities of the world. Headquartered at Baylor University, with autonomous regions on six continents, the ICPC is directed by Baylor Professor William B. Poucher, Executive Director, and operates under the auspices of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The event has attracted more than 800 participants from India and abroad. The event at Bangalore campus was attended by 210 participants forming close to 70 teams hailing from prestigious institutions like IITs, NITs, and IIITs etc.

The event was scheduled on 19th and 20th of December 2012 in the campus premises from 9.00 am till late evening 7.00 pm followed by Banquet Dinner. The inauguration ceremony started at 9.30 am on 19th December 2012 for all the Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham campuses simultaneously via AVIEW. Mr. Mahesh S. Paradkar of IBM Pune was invited to deliver the keynote address at Bangalore campus of Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham. He is leading the Cloud Automation Library Mission in IBM India.

The participants witnessed huge amount of competitiveness with battle of brains and had exposure to build and solve variety of problem sets on 20th December 2012. The team from IIT Mumbai, Chennai Mathematical Institute, and IIT Roorkee won the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively.

The closing ceremony took place at 5:30 pm on 20th December 2012. Mr. Ritesh Kumble from Infosys Technologies Ltd. addressed the gathering at this validictory function from Bangalore campus.

Lastly, the FACE team led by Subramanian Pillai put up an excellent show working nights together to make sure that this event was a successful one.

Friday, December 15, 2017 - 12:00
Event Details
2012-12-19 09:00 to 2012-12-20 19:00
School of Engineering