Dr. Duraisamy Kumaresan currently serves as Associate Professor at Department of Chemical Engineering, School of Engineering, Coimbatore Campus. His areas of research include Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells, Photo- Catalytic Hydrogen Production, Organic Semi-Conductors and Electron Donor-Acceptor Systems.








Publication Type: Journal Article
Year of Publication Publication Type Title
2015 Journal Article M. Rangarajan, Jelmy, E. J., S. Raj, M., Rajamani, A. R., Kothurkar, N., and Kumaresan, D., “Highly Solution Processable Camphor Sulfonic Acid-Doped Multiwalled Carbon Nanotube/Polyaniline Composite and Its Uses in Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells (Under Review)”, Journal of Polymer Science B: Polymer Physics, 2015.
2015 Journal Article M. R. Subramaniam and Kumaresan, D., “CdSe Quantum Dots and N719-Dye Decorated Hierarchical TiO² Nanorods for the Construction of Efficient Co-Sensitized Solar Cells”, ChemPhysChem, vol. 16, pp. 2543-2548, 2015.[Abstract]

Three-dimensional hierarchical TiO2 nanorods (HTNs) decorated with the N719 dye and 3-mercaptopropionic or oleic acid capped CdSe quantum dots (QDs) in photoanodes for the construction of TiO2 nanorod-based efficient co-sensitized solar cells are reported. These HTN co-sensitized solar cells showed a maximum power-conversion efficiency of 3.93, and a higher open-circuit voltage and fill factor for the photoanode with 3-mercaptopropionic acid capped CdSe QDs due to the strong electronic interactions between CdSe QDs, N719 dye and HTNs, and the superior light-harvesting features of the HTNs. An electrochemical impedance analysis indicated that the superior charge-collection efficiency and electron diffusion length of the CdSe QD-coated HTNs improved the photovoltaic performance of these HTN co-sensitized solar cells. © 2015 WILEY-VCH Verlag GmbH and Co. KGaA, Weinheim.

More »»
2012 Journal Article D. Kumaresan, “Photophysical studies on terpyridyl-p-platinum(II) chromophore-electron acceptor dyads for the photocatalytic hydrogen generation from water”, ACS Division of Fuel Chemistry, vol. 57, pp. 66-68, 2012.
Faculty Details


Faculty Email: