The Final Year B.Tech students of Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE), Amrita School of Engineering, Amritapuri Campus, won the third position in the 1st AICTE-ECI Chaatra Vishwakarma Award held at AICTE Headquarters, New Delhi, on 17th September, 2017. 

The winners were decided based on the projects submitted by the students in the competition organised by AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) in collaboration with ECI (Engineering Council of India). The theme for the competition was 'How to make your institution a Smart Institution?'

The winners of team Mavericks, from Amrita, Mr. Arjun Krishna, 4th year, Department of EEE, Mr. P. Dilip Kumar, 4th year, Department of EEE, Mr. Anirudh Chithrabhanu, 4th year, Department of EEE, and Mr. C. V. S. Gireesh, 4th year, Department of EEE, was guided by Mr. Bharath K. R., Assistant Professor, Department of EEE. They proposed the project ' Smart plug for monitoring and control of electrical appliances'. Speaking about the achievement, Mr. Bharath said, "I feel immense happiness and pride on this victory. It was a learning experience for me as well as the students".

A total of 965 teams, comprising of 3-4 members participated in the event. All nominations were shortlisted based Innovation, Implimentability, Cost benefit, Eco friendly, and its Social impact. Later 55 teams were shortlisted by a Jury comprising experts from Industry and Academia led by eminent industrialist Dr. B. D. Mundhra, Chairman, Simplex Infrastructure out of which 50 ideas are from teams of Degree Level Engineering Colleges and 5 from the teams of Diploma Level Institutes. These teams participated in the final hardware presentation after abstract submission and video presentation rounds. 8 teams were selected from electrical engineering section for final hardware presentation held at AICTE Headquarters, New Delhi, in which Mavericks bagged 3rd position. Dr. Satyapal Singh, Honourable Minister for Human Resource Development distributed the awards to the winners in the presence of Prof. Anil D. Sahsrabudhe, Chairman AICTE. 

Share this Story: