Back close

Amrita Mysuru Campus Felicitates Young Alumni Award Winners for Film

March 20, 2021 - 1:00
Amrita Mysuru Campus Felicitates Young Alumni Award Winners for Film

The Department of Visual Communication and the Alumni Network of Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus, organized a felicitation function for the young alumni achievers Nireekshith P. and Zubin Paul of the department for winning numerous international awards for the movie Avalakki Pavalakki.

Nireekshith P., a recipient of the Best Cinematography Award at Sweden Film Awards (December 2020) and Port Blair International Film Festival (January 2021) for the movie Avalakki Pavalakki, was a student of the first batch of B. Sc. Visual Media in 2014 who showcased and continues to follow his passion in cinematography.

Zubin Paul, an acclaimed rank holder and gold medalist while studying for his B. Sc Visual Media and M.Sc Visual Communication degrees, stands tall with his Best Original Score and Best Musical Theme Award at Port Blair International Film Festival (January 2021), Best Composer Award at American Golden Picture International Film Festival 2021 (Jacksonville, Florida, USA) and Best Original Score at Depth of Field International Film Festival, UFFO for the same movie. The management, staff and students of Visual Communication department take immense pride in congratulating the young achieving alumni.

While addressing the students, Zubin Paul expressed that it was his stint in Amrita that has given him the foundation to grow his career. Appealing to his juniors present on the occasion Mr. Paul said that one should keep long-term goals for true gratification in the media field.

Nireekshith expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the management and faculty for instilling values and skills that have helped him progress in his career. Sharing a few words of wisdom with his juniors, he said that learning a skill doesn’t end with a degree; he stressed that it is a lifelong endeavor for which they should develop interest, patience and perseverance.

Present at the formal ceremony were the dignitaries: Br. Anantaananda Chaitanya (Director, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus), Br. Muktidamrta Chaitanya (Correspondent, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus), Dr. G. Ravindranath (Principal, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus) and Dr. Rekha Bhat (Academic Coordinator, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus), extending their blessings and best wishes to the winners. Taking the opportunity, Dr. Ramya K. Prasad (Chairperson, Department of Visual Communication, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Mysuru Campus) also congratulated all the other alumni who have won laurels in the media field. One of the crew members of Avalakki Pavalakki and Alumnus Priya, students, staff and others were also present on the occasion.

Admissions Apply Now