Back close

22nd Institution Day Celebrations at ASE Coimbatore

February 25, 2017 - 12:33
22nd Institution Day Celebrations at ASE Coimbatore

Amrita School of Engineering, Coimbatore organized the 22ndInstitution day on 18th February 2017. Dr. Seshu Bhagavathula, Chief Technology Officer, Ashok Leyland, and the Founding Managing Director of Mercedes-Benz Research and Development Center in Bangalore, was the Chief Guest for the event. The tone for the Institution day was set by Dr.(Col) P. N. Kumar Head, Student Affairs, who welcomed the gathering and invited Dr. Sankaran K. the Registrar of the Institution, to deliver a brief overview of the institution. Following the Registrar, Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan, Dean, Amrita School of Engineering, delivered a video presentation of student and faculty achievements, as well as the social activities of the institution over the year, which was well received by the audience. Festival celebrations at Amrita such as Onam, Ugadi, Janmashtami, Ganesh Chathurdhi,etc., were also mentioned in the video presentation. Next, Mr. Prasanth R. Nair, Vice-Chairman, Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, introduced the Chief Guest Dr. Seshu Bhagavathula, Chief Technology Officer, Ashok Leyland and invited him to address the gathering.

Dr. Bhagavthula , spoke about the need for education and innovation in the current global scenario, citing examples from his wide and varied experience while a part of the Mercedes-Benz Research and Development Center and from his personal experiences. On the conclusion of the talk, Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan, Dean Amrita School of Engineering, honored the Chief Guest. Afterwards, ith water conservation being the need of the hour, Dr. Nikhil K. Kothurkar, Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, delivered a brief presentation on the importance of water conservation. He stressed on the importance of water recycling and rain water harvesting which left a deep impact on the listeners.

As a part of the Institution day celebrations, awards were initiated by the various departments in order to appreciate the effort and contribution to academic excellence in their field of study. The Department of Chemical Engineering awarded the top three students of each of the first, second and third years of the department with an Endowment award, The Department of Computer Science & Engineering awarded the Prakash Memorial and Jayavel Memorial awards to the top two students in the department, The department of Mechanical Engineering awarded 4 students with the SAE award for excellence in the field of mechanical engineering and the department of English awarded mementos and certificates to 23 students recognizing their contribution and hard work towards “Amrita Dhwani”, the student magazine of the institutiton.

Students who bagged prizes at the South Zone Inter-University Youth Festival, in association with the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and various National awards, were recognized during the event. The prizes for short film were also distributed, which was bagged by students from the Department of Mechanical Engineering and runners-up from the Department of Communication. The event concluded with a vibrant dance and cultural performances by the students and alumni of the Amrita School of Engineering.

Admissions Apply Now