Back close

CBSE Teachers who won President’s Medal Honoured at Amrita’s Chennai Campus

November 11, 2019 - 9:57
CBSE Teachers who won President’s Medal Honoured at Amrita’s Chennai Campus

‘The teachers have contributed a lot towards preparing India’s young generation to secure the future of the country,’ said Shri. Deepak Vohra, Special Advisor to the Prime Ministers of India, Lesotho and Guinea-Bissau. He was addressing ‘You are the Light’ event held at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Chennai campus, to honour the CBSE teachers who won National Best Teacher Award for the year 2018 – 2019 for CBSE and State Board. The event was conducted by Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Chennai Campus, to felicitate the recipients of the National Teacher’s Award as a recognition of their contribution to developing their schools in Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry.

The teachers who were felicitated include Dr. M. Mansoor Ali (Diamond Jubilee Higher Secondary School, Gobichettipalayam, Erode), Shri. Selvakkannan R. (Panchayat Union Primary School K Paramathi, Karur), Shri S. Sasikumar Pavendhar (Bharathidhasan Government Primary School Koonichampet, Villianur, Puducherry) and Mrs. Malathy Santhanam (Vice Principal, Padma Seshadri Bala Bhavan Senior Secondary School, Chennai). More than 160 teachers from around 23 schools in Chennai including principals participated in the full-day event where veterans shared their experiences with teaching.

Shri. R Srinivasan, Regional Officer, CBSE, Chennai said that events like these help participating teachers get inspired and excel in their vocation. Shri. R. Vasudevan, who is the head of recruitment for TCS said the role of teachers is visible when the students join the industry and start performing in their assigned jobs. M. S. Krishnankutty (Chairman, Career Competency Development at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham),  Dr. R. Shankar (Principal, Amrita School of Engineering, Chennai), Anand Shenoy (Director, Amrita School of Engineering) and Manikantan I. B. (Director, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Chennai Campus), were also present.

Admissions Apply Now