Back close

Republic Day 2022 – Essay Writing Competition

June 5, 2023 - 5:57
Republic Day 2022 – Essay Writing  Competition
Date Event Topic Platform
26/01/20222 On the Occasion of azadi ka amrit mahotsav (celebrating 75 years of indian independence) republic day – essay writing – Nss unit v Celebrating unsung heroes Microsoft teams

The 73rd Republic Day Celebrations were held at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham on 26th January, 2022. The event began at 8:55 am with a prayer song. The National Flag was hoisted by the chief guest Dr. O.J. Kumaresan, Director of Physical Education. It was followed by the National Anthem. After that, there was a speech by the chief guest highlighting the glories of the Indian Constitution.

The ceremony was graced by the presence of Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan, The Dean, and Dr. S.Mahadevan, Deputy Dean. Several other senior faculty members, staff, students, and other residents of the campus also attended the programme with strict adherence to the COVID protocols. The event was concluded with the distribution of sweets.
On the occasion of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Celebrating 75 years of Indian Independence, an Essay writing competition on the topic ‘Celebrating Unsung Heroes’, a Debate competition on the topic ‘Elixir of Freedom’ and a Quiz contest were conducted.

The Essay Writing competition was organized by the Unit V of NSS under the guidance of Dr. Sreeranjini K.S, NSS Programme Officer Unit V. The event was successfully

conducted by the coordination of Mary Sooria (CB.AR.D*ENGI9003-PT), Adithi Narayan (CB.EN.U4CSE18205), Amal Sajeev (CB.SC.I5PHY20008), Devika Biju (CB.SC.I5CHE20014), Irine Theresa Joy (CB.SC.I5CHE20019), Kavya.G
(CB.SC.I5CHE20020), Malavika.M.Nambiar (CB.SC.I5CHE20022), Sandra Prasanth (CB.SC.I5PHY20045), Shilpa Pradeesh (CB.SC.I5PHY20048) and Smirthi Shammi Raj (CB.SC.I5CHE20038).

62 students have participated for essay writing adhering to the guidelines put up by NSS and the winners were selected.

Dr. O.J. Kumaresan then announced the prize winners of the Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav Contests.

Winning Position Name Department
1st Varadharajan K 3rd year B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
2nd Kanchamreddy Akshitha 3rd year B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering
2nd Manuvanthra A 3rd year BSc Agricultural Science
3rd Vishnu Kumar V H Final year Artificial Intelligence and Data sciences
3rd Chekuri Rohan Karthikeya 2nd year Electrical And Computer Engineering

Later, in the evening, the Prize distribution ceremony of the Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav Contests was organized on Microsoft Teams platform at 4pm. The event started off with a prayer song and an opening note by C Hemavathy Aisshwarya (CB.EN.U4AEE18018), student coordinator of the event.

Dr. Tharani Devi N, department of Sciences, welcomed the gathering followed by the address of Dr. Ramkumar A.S, Professor of Student’s Welfare.

Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan, Dean Amrita School of Engineering addressed the gathering. The Dean emphasized the importance of responsibilities of young generation to improve the scountry from its present level. He encouraged students to resolve to revive the glorious levels of Indian morals, values, ethics, and good governance, so that with the power of the youth we could change things for the future and make our nation great.

Dr. D. Venkataraman, NSS Programme Coordinator, underscored the importance of knowing about our past, our roots, our culture, and our great leaders and explained how all this would help us to become more expressive as well as evolve as good leaders in the future. He also congratulated all the participants and thanked all the faculty coordinators, the student coordinators and the judges for their hard work in ensuring that the events were organized well. The winners of the various events were then announced and their digital certificates were displayed on the screen.

The successful event was concluded with vote of thanks.

Poster made by: Amal Sajeev, 2nd year Integrated MSc Physics AND Irine Theresa Joy, Malavika.M.Nambiar, 2nd year Integrated MSc Chemistry

Admissions Apply Now