Back close

sCTF 2012

August 20, 2012 - 3:17
sCTF 2012

SecurIT CTF(sCTF) is being organized along with the first international conference on Security of Internet of Things to be held at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Amritapuri from 17-19 August 2012. Teams who qualify to the final round are fully sponsored to attend the conference and the contest on-site. This is a golden opportunity to interact with the best security researchers from around the world!

sCTF is a Capture The Flag style ethical hacking contest, a strategic war game designed to mimic the real world security challenges. Software developers in India have little exposure to secure coding practices and the effects of not adopting such practices-one of the main reasons why systems are compromised quite easily. Following such simple practices can help prevent such incidents. sCTF is focussed exclusively on the student community. No prior exposure in computer security is required to take part in the contest.

The contest has 3 rounds. The first round was an offline round and lasted 2 months. It is primarily a learning round-students are provided learning material that helps them acquire the required skills to perform in the subsequent rounds. The second round is a 6 hour long online challenge based round. Students are tested in the areas of cryptography, reverse engineering, binary exploits and web exploits. Based on the performance in the first and second round, teams are invited on-site to play the exciting 6 hour long final CTF round, where teams battle it out to lay their hands on the coveted first prize and bragging rights for the best ethical hacking team.

Here is a few statistics on the participants in sCTF 2012. Number of teams in the first round: 168 teams from over 21 states of India Number of teams in the second round: 81

Finalists of sCTF 2012 include teams from various colleges across India such as Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, National Institute of Technology Trichy, National Institute of Technology Calicut, National Institute of Technology Surathkal, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Sardar Vallabhai National Institute of Technology, Indian Institute of Information Technology Hyderabad, Kurukshetra University Haryana, Laxmi Niwas Mittal Institute of Information Technology, Model Engineering College Thrikkakara, Meenakshi Sundararajan Engineering College, Vellore Institute of Technology and Vignan Lara Institute of Technology and Science.

The 6 hour long contest was a closely fought one with few teams marching towards the lead leaving several behind. It was a close contest between the team from NIT Surathkal and NIT Calicut, with the NIT Calicut team capturing the first place in the final moments of the game from NIT Surathkal. Teams from CET Trivandrum, GEC Thrissur and Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham closely contested for the second runners up place, which was ultimately captured by GEC Thrissur.

Admissions Apply Now