Back close

INDICON 2018 – 15th Edition of the IEEE India Council International Conference

December 20, 2018 - 6:07
INDICON 2018 – 15th Edition of the IEEE India Council International Conference

The 15th edition of IEEE INDICON 2018, the flagship conference of the IEEE India Council organized by IEEE Madras Section, with technical support of IIT Madras, was held at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore campus from 16th to 18th December. The conference highlights included 862 paper submissions, 362 reviewers, 300+ delegates, 233 selected papers, 12 keynote addresses, 7 Tutorials, 7 tracks, 5 plenary talks, 4 poster sessions, 3 workshops and one industry track keynote. Various conference tracks included circuits & systems, signal & image processing, power electronics & drives, power systems, control & instrumentation, computer science and communication & networks. 

From the first edition of INDICON in 2004, this conference has come a long way to become a premier avenue for researchers to showcase their original innovations. Dr. Sasangan Ramanathan, Dean-Engineering, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, expressed his heartfelt gratitude to IEEE for being given the opportunity to host the prestigious international conference, which has been hosted in the past by leading institutions such as IISc Bangalore and IITs at Madras, Kharagpur, Delhi, Bombay and Roorkee. He has also observed that the conference theme, “Harnessing Technology for Humanity” is very close to our Chancellor Amma’s vision of ‘Compassion-Driven Research’. 

IEEE and Amrita have a long-standing partnership with active IEEE student branches in our 3 schools of engineering at Amritapuri, Bangalore and Coimbatore. Faculty and students of Amrita have won several awards at IEEE events like the All India Student Congress (AISC) and conferences in cutting-edge areas like Smart Grid, Technology Enhanced Learning and Robotics for Humanitarian Applications. 

List of Speakers:

  • Dr. Merlyn M. DeSouza, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Dr. Subhas Chandra Mukopadhyay, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Dr. Seshadri Srinivasan, Berkeley Education Alliance for Research in Singapore
  • Dr. Salil Kanhere, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Dr. Sivaji Chakravorti, IEEE India Council Chair & Director, NIT Calicut
  • Mr. Deepak Mathur, IEEE Region 10 Director elect
  • Dr. S. N. Singh, IEEE India Council Chair elect & Vice-Chancellor, Madan Mohan Malaviya University
  • Dr. Bodh Raj Mehta, Dean (R&D), IIT Delhi
  • Dr. C. E. Veni Madhavan, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore
  • Dr. Somnath Chanda Roy, IIT Madras​​​​​​​
  • Dr. Venkataraman S., Additional Director, ISRO Hyderabad​​​​​​​
  • Dr. Harish Barshilia, Head, Surface Science Division, NAL​​​​​​​
  • Mr. Radhakrishnan K., Royal Philips 

The organizing departments were: 

  • Electronics & Communication Engineering (ECE)
  • Electrical & Electronics Engineering (EEE)
  • Computer Science & Engineering (CSE) 

Organizing Chair:

General Chairs: 

  • Dr. Jagadeesh Kumar, Professor of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras 
  • Dr. M. Jayakumar, Chairperson, Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering (ECE), School of Engineering, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore
  • Dr. K. C. Sindhu Thampatty, Chairperson, Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering (EEE), School of Engineering, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore
  • Dr. Latha Parameswaran, Chairperson, Department of Computer Science & Engineering (CSE), School of Engineering, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore
Admissions Apply Now