Back close

International Conference on Power & Energy Systems: Towards Sustainable Energy

February 19, 2016 - 2:15
International Conference on Power & Energy Systems: Towards Sustainable Energy

The Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering, Amrita School of Engineering, Bengaluru hosted the Biennial International Conference “2016 Power and Energy Systems: Towards Sustainable Energy” (PESTSE 2016), in association with IEEE Bangalore section and IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) – Bangalore Chapter, from January 21st – 23rd, 2016. 

The conference was aimed at providing a platform for researchers, scientists, industrial professionals and students to exchange and share their research accomplishments, achievements and new ideas on the contemporary and emerging trends in Power and Energy Systems. This would enable them to arrive at new ideas and techniques, not only to enhance Power and Energy, but also work towards sustaining it. 

The conference received 350 papers, 17 from abroad and 333 from within India, out of which 146 were selected through double blind peer review process and 134 authors registered.

This three day event started off with tutorial sessions conducted by experts in their fields, in order to facilitate brainstorming discussions which were to follow in the next two days. The speakers were Dr. Muhammad H. Rashid, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of West Florida, USA; Dr. Joachim Holtz,Professor Emeritus and Consultant, University of Wuppertal, Germany; Dr. Priya Ranjan Mishra, Principal Scientist, Philips India, Bangalore and Mr. Ganapathi Devappa, CEO, Spider Opsnet, Bengaluru, India.

The second day started off with a formal inaugural ceremony, in the presence of inaugural Chief Guest, Mr. Kris Gopalakrishnan, Co-founder Infosys Ltd., Chairman Axilor Ventures. Inauguration was followed by keynote address by Dr. Muhammad H. Rashid – Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of West Florida, USA, on the title “Power Electronics Applications in Renewable Energy.” Succeeding the keynote address was a panel discussion on“Digital World in Power Sector”, with Dr. R. Nagaraja, (Chapter representative of Power Engineering Society (PES) for R-10 west, & Managing Director, PRDC, Bangalore) as Moderator. The panel members were Mr. Babu Narayan, Chief Technical Advisor, PRDC (on Smart grid); Mr. GiriPrathivadi, HP (Internet of Things); Mr. Sri Chandra, IEEE India Office (Big Data Analytics) and Mr. Ganga Prasad, Director, CDAC, Bengaluru (Cyber Security). 

In the post lunch session, 65 papers were presented in two technical sessions, with six parallel tracks, at six different halls. The tracks were Contemporary Inverter Topology, Modern Chopper Topologies, Wind Energy Technologies (WET), Solar Energy Conversion System (SECS), Power Management & Optimization (PMO) and Power Quality & Renewable Energy Harvesting Methods.  Dr. Joachim Holtz, Professor Emeritus and Consultant, University of Wuppertal, Germany, gave the keynote address. He spoke on “Energy Efficiency for High-Power Electrical Drives”. This was followed by a  cultural variety program by the students of Amrita School of Engineering, Bengaluru and ended with a grand banquet dinner.

The final day started with a keynote address by Dr. Ralph M. Kennel, Professor, Technische Universitaet Muenchen, Germany, on the title “Predictive Control-the Powerful Method to Control Power Converters and Drives in the Future.” This was followed by poster presentation session, with 26 posters presented.  Subsequently, a panel discussion on “Contemporary Research Trends in Microgrid / Distributed Generation”, with Mr. Sethuraman Ganesan (Product Manager- Power Grid Division, ABB India Ltd.,) as moderator was held. The panel members were Dr. Ajit Ghodke, Manager-Technical, Partner Business, Schneider Electric (Microgrid Architecture and Solutions); Dr. Manohar Singh, Engineering Officer, CPRI(System Protection with Major Integration of Renewables in Distribution Systems); Mr. Narayanan Rajagopal, Senior Scientist, Tata Consulting Services (Renewables and Microgrids in Smartgrids) and Dr. Gurunath Gurrala, Assistant professor, IISc, Bengaluru (Integration of Renewables in Weak Grid Systems).  A technical session with 43 papers followed the panel discussion in 6 parallel tracks. 

The valedictory function was presided by Dr. Hariram Satheesh, Principal Scientist, ABB and IEEE PES Bangalore Chapter Joint Secretary. He shared some feedback about the conference and fixed the theme for the PESTSE-2018 Conference.


Prof. Dr. Muhammad H. Rashid instituted the Best Paper Award fund for the Biennial PESTSE conference. For the current PESTSE-2016 conference, the Best Paper Award Winners were:

  1. Selva Kumar Sethu, Joseph Xavier R and Balamurugan Sukumar for “Small Signal Modelling of Gas Turbine Plant for Load Frequency Control”, paper ID : 342, in Power Systems Group.
  2. Shashidhara Mecha Kotian and Shubhanga K. N. for “Design of a Sub synchronous Damping Controller Using a Dynamic Phasor-Based Model of TCSC” paper ID : 57, in Sustainable Energy Group.
  3. Mohd. Faisal Khan and M. Rizwan Khan for “A Comparative Analysis of Single-phase Self-excited Induction Generator Variants under Resonating Condition” paper ID : 314, in Power Electronics & Drives Group.

The above papers were awarded with a cash prize of Rs.5000 each, along with a merit certificate.

2nd International Conference on Power and Energy Systems: Towards Sustainable Energy (PESTSE 2016)

Admissions Apply Now